AN ODE TO SPINNERETS

29 Oct

A delicate spinneret selected my window to weave

A glistening lace fortress,

A mirror

Reflecting two arduous draftswomen.

Each strand illuminates the faithful skyfire,

The only witness to the meticulous threads of originality.

Under appreciated, misunderstood and overlooked

Yet she spins, she labours, she refines.

Every silk vein tactfully placed and patterned

For her survival, her existence.

Utterly devoted to her craft.

Each morning I rise and there she is,

Repairing and strengthening a new

Lattice of innovation,

Only to be torn, twisted and trashed.

She persists.

Perfecting her bespoke creations

With no return on her invested time.

This morning her fine silk gauze was destroyed

Beyond repair.

Abandoned.

With only my memory to identify her valiant achievements.

How many webbs go without recognition?


Ioney Smallhorne

a dedicated Mouthy Poet

5 Responses to “AN ODE TO SPINNERETS”

  1. mouthypoets December 22, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Wow! “Faithful skyfire” and “lace fortress” – what a great choice of words throughout this poem! The strength of the word ‘fortress’ and the delicacy of ‘lace’ works so well – but you do this all the way through. There is such a sense of a precious moment, I can hear a pin drop just reading it to myself. I feel like this is a really well worked poem, I mean every word has been chosen carefully, like if I asked you to change a word, you’d say, ‘oh no, I tried that, but I chose this because…’ When I first read it (and I’ve heard you read it too) it seemed very simple and straightforward, and this is something that’s been written about many times, spiders and webs and determination – but this poem has a subtle strength about it, I get a sense of the woman watching too, a sense of her strength, her determination so that it is so much more than a poem about a spider’s web. (Should it be ‘arduous’ or ‘ardent’?) Anne

  2. Georgina Jeronymides-Norie December 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Completely agree with Anne. It’s a really beautiful piece, I wanna hear it! The subtlety makes this all the more stronger.

    Georgie

  3. mouthypoets January 2, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    I love it. And I think out of everything I have seen of yours on first look this seems the most complete. It has a great simplicity and concept and beautiful use of language. I have very little to say in terms of improvements. The only thing I want to suggest is that maybe at the beggining you ellude a little more to this character being a person. Ground it a bit more in reality so the audience feels attached to the character putting in all the hard work. There is all this almost godly beautiful language, maybe chuck in something more real and gritty. Because spiders are!

    e.g.

    A delicate spinneret selected my window to weave

    A glistening lace fortress,

    A mirror

    Reflecting two arduous draftswomen.

    Each strand illuminates the faithful gascooker,

    The only witness to the meticulous threads of originality.

    Under appreciated, misunderstood and overlooked

    Yet she spins, she spits, she refines.

    Litterally a word hear and there because I think your phrasing is miraculously accurate here and I would only want to tweek it if anything. Let me know what you think?

    D

  4. iscreativemedia January 3, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Thanks ladies for your comments. I wrote this poem by accident- i was actually trying to write about something else but that poem seems to be locked away somewhere and i cant find the keys for it!!! While i was racking my brain trying to write that elusive poem this little spider was weaving her web and i was completely captivated by her…I have been working a lot with the writing exercises particularly the metaphor making exercise which is my new friend… and your right Anne i did spend a lot of time with each word because i think the spider deserved it- she was working so hard bless her! The whole poem is supposed to be a metaphor for people (women) who work within the creative industry who don’t get any recognition, so i would like the spider to seem like a person- this is something i will work on..
    I haven’t performed or read this poem (Anne you have heard it but it was during the session where you asked everyone to swap poems- Honey read this out) and yes i think ‘ardent’ would be better…

    i

  5. Panya January 5, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Ditto all the above… absolutely love the last lines

    “With only my memory to identify her valiant achievements.

    How many webs go without recognition?”

Leave a Reply

