What to do on your last Day in America?

21 Jan

Blog?

Okay I know I have been slacking, and I kind of still am BUT I am going to post I wrote at THE MOST AMAZING OPEN MIC OF MY LIFE in Washington DC called Spit Dat. Also, very soon I am going to put up a YouTube video overviewing my experience in the US and will put up pics and blogs and notes post-trip with my experienced. If you don’t mind?

I MISS MOUTHY SO MUCH…Here is a first draft 🙂

 

I want a more African bottom.

That is what’s missing.

A batty a baby could be propped up on.

 

I want to be able to make a monobrow look cool.

I want lots of things actually…

 

Like paint cans filled with condensation

And dark rooms made misty white

by heat and sweat when it’s sheep-skin-cover-cold outside.

 

I want to write job application forms that leak

like naked raving torso’s in conga lines.

I want to wear socks as yellow

as UV lit skin.

I want to be able to do a headstand

as straight and smooth and neck wrenching to watch

as his wit.

 

I want to be as confidence

in speaking a 20 minute poet

as the one european girl being chucked in the air

by all the black boys over 6ft.

 

Be the DJ

Pee without touching the toilet seat

wear no make up beacuase you know you’ll just sweat it off anyway…

 

I want to be able to embarace

myself every day on purpose.

One Response to “What to do on your last Day in America?”

  1. anneholloway January 25, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Great first draft! By the way – you have some of these already…

Leave a Reply

