Humphrey is a Hamster

16 Dec

From the same session of mine, a poem by Cindy. It’s an acrostitle:

Humphrey is a hamster that lives in a cage,
under a shelter, playing games.
My favourite colour is orange, because that is the colour of my skin.
Partly brown because I’m partly brown.
Having fun everyday with my friends I shall play
really hyper, I get told off,
even though I ignore my parents.
Yay, I can’t wait for tomorrow, a fresh new day.

One Response to “Humphrey is a Hamster”

  1. mouthypoets January 6, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    Firstly – HOW EXCITING to start hearing the poetry from our next generation of Mouthy’s! Thank you so much Cindy for agreeing to share this with us.

    I want to be friends with humphery! I love how you have SPECIFICALLY used his name, great use of poetic technique there!

    Some great description here, I particularly like; “under shelter, playing games”.

    I also like the orange and brown references, it gives a slightly ambiguous yet at the same time brazen approach to race (I think?)

    I think it would be interesting if we tried making the whole poem so it was in the voice of Humphery…

    I am Humphrey
    I live in a cage,
    under a shelter,
    playing games.

    My favourite colour is orange,
    because that is the colour of my skin.
    Partly brown because I’m partly brown.

    Having fun everyday with my friends
    I shall play really hyper, I get told off,
    even though I ignore my parents.

    Yay,
    I can’t wait for tomorrow,
    a fresh new day.

    hmmm, I wonder what Cindy thinks?

    Debris

Leave a Reply

