Did they hear me?

23 Jun

It had smelt like the promise of summer rain

in Turkmenistan.

Felt like the coffee meet ups weren’t enough.

I was fustrated people didn’t understand.

 

I woke up at seven, 2am midnights stained my eyes.

Yet the green room buzz fed me til midnight.

I had felt drowned and lost in a good way,

everything seemed so hectic ans stormy yet underneath, 

it was calming.

 

I closed my eyes, blinked twice

and found my palm pressing against the sweaty stage.

My eyes shining into the eyes of what felt like 200 people.

Today they will understand.

 

My breathe  hitched and trembled,

and I  summed up all my words.

My pulse reminded me how much I love making people

listen.

In that milli second,

all my brain can think of is how much I love staining paper with scribbles

and turning it into something of my best.

Then all I hear is the poem.

 

Throat cracks,

My lines hesitate,

sputter and spit.

 

All I see is the coffee shop this poem was bron.

 

and I am on a coach,

traveling far from Nottingham,

wondering…

Wait. 

Did they even hear me?

400 people heard me.

I’m still not sure how that happened.

 

Jei.

2 Responses to “Did they hear me?”

  1. Anne holloway June 23, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Hectic and stormy, yet underneath it was calm… for me too

  2. mouthypoets June 24, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    I love the way this captures both the speed and the slow motion feeling of our events – the intensity yet tranquility of knowing, no matter what happens today we have done it. And the whole thing made all the more overwhelming before of the 500 people that showed up!

    Debris

Leave a Reply

