Emily Franklin & Debris’ SST6 Ideas

20 Dec

Emily Franklin and myself, Debris are planning to continue collaborating at all Say Sum Thin events this year as we did at Say Sum Thin 5.

We are currently playing with two separate ideas, we are going to develop both until there is a clear winner…

Idea 1. A Children’s Story about Migration (legal and illegal). 

Editing down a piece of text I generated with support from Apples and Snakes early last year…

to work alongside a piece of music Emily is developing about predators…

Idea 2. A memorial to Nelson Mandela

The death of Nelson Mandela has effected the world so profoundly. We want to develop a personal response that hopefully can express how his impact can and will live on. Here is an initial Freewrite I created on the day he died and a video with Emily’s response to that freewrite…

Nelson Mandela died today.

 

My heart: two hands closing in on each other.

My friend told me she wanted to cry.

And a part of me felt that too

But another part felt like I wanted in on the action

Like one day I want girls and boys

Born 1000s of kilometers from me

to cry

when I die

because I did something for them

like he did.

I want to believe that I can be that powerful .

Does that make me selfish?

Inconsiderate?

Rude?

Cocky?

Self-absorbed.

I hugged her, my friend,

and I meant it.

I mean everything I do

Which can make life awkward

and confusing when the hands inside me

Start fighting and shaking.

I try to understand them both.

But sometimes you risk destroying

both sides of the argument.

I feel disappoint in my inability

to split open nuance like he could

so frankly.

He was what other people didn’t even realize they needed him to be.

I don’t believe in fate. I don’t belive in god.

But for some reason I believe I am supposed to do that to. Do you?

But I also don’t want to dye soon. Or be sad…

Because then I am useless

and I cannot do those things anyway…

Who’s freedom is mine inseparable from?

It is such a hard balance

It is such a hard balance.

He was 95.

My other friend told me his wife was a crazy bitch.

I wonder what it must be like for to share love with 7billion people?

To come home and try and place the dregs of themselves inside each other

Galaxies or black-holes must be made

It is unfair to expect them to be capable of love

But that is what humans want.

 

All thoughts and opinions welcome! If you have a favourite idea let it be known now!

Debris & Emily

3 Responses to “Emily Franklin & Debris’ SST6 Ideas”

  1. mouthypoets December 26, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Firstly i enjoyed the first Piece for it’s more intricate and developed form. The voice in the poem and the point of view is so genuine and believable. Instead of the type of collaboration where you start with developing similar ideas together, Its is going to be like clash of the titans. Start with two seperate ideas and let them battle it out, find similarities but also contrasts and find their stance. I think that is pretty exciting as opposed to trying to syncronise. Also like the “playing with ideas 2” melody.
    Secondly, I think because the first piece is more developed to the nelson mandela pice initially i preffered it, but after reading it more i think the second piece is very intriguing. I am really interested in seeing what you would do with it because as it says this is just at freewrite stage. I love the image of the heart as hads, trying to please either side could destroy them and the sense of being stuck between two places. Also really love the whole idea of wasnting to be someone and leave a legacy (for all the right reasons) but also the internal debate of “is that selfish ?”… I think what im trying to say is that this piece ,especially the confusion in it, really made me want to know more.
    I personally think the first piece is great for SS6 as a real “performance” It has a solid voice because of images and specificity but also the innoconce is both in the words and delivery. The music on top of this will be an interesting feature. Ive seen this poem before on youtube and as it said “scratch” was waiting to know how it was gonna be developed so this is awesome. I am also really intrigued in what is to come of the Nelson Mandela freewrite. If something can be developed in time for March , Wicked ! but if not, Smash ss6 with the first piece and use whatever comes out of the freewrite development definitely for another show.
    I hope that is in someway useful… not sure how but those are my thoughts 🙂

  2. Anne December 31, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Because the first piece is a completed piece me I’ve seen you perform it I’m finding it hard to understand how you would work that into Emily’s piece about predators, but her vocals are so strong and the music, that it intrigues me. It’s just that the poem, our poem, about the kids in Australia works so well I kind of do to want you to tamper with it!
    But, having said that, that’s an exciting place to start from, why not tear it apart and reuse it? There is so much more in there that could be used again and again.

    Mandela? Yep, this piece has got to be written, doesn’t everybody feel that way, but won’t admit it out loud? And he’s such a huge man and has such a huge story and there’s so much shit flying around about him now he’s dead, that in think it’s really important we keep talking about what he actually did and who he actually was – and for younger people I think it’s vital they discover for themselves who he was, because as someone who grew up hearing about him on the news and reading about him, it’s quite shocking the view some people have about him now, and may be taken in by some political bottom licking that is going on. But maybe you need time to research him more?
    Can you imagine Emily’s voice and yours doing this though? Epic!

  3. Anne December 31, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Too many typos last time!!!

    Because the first piece is a completed piece for me, I’ve seen you perform it I’m finding it hard to understand how you would work that into Emily’s piece about predators, but her vocals are so strong and the music, that it intrigues me. It’s just that the poem, your poem, about the kids in Australia works so well I kind of don’t want you to tamper with it!
    But, having said that, that’s an exciting place to start from, why not tear it apart and re-use it? There is so much more in there that could be used again and again.

Leave a Reply

