Bree SST6 4th and Final Draft

10 Feb

Yellow Love

Love isn’t red for everyone.
Or for me, all of the time.
Red Love is hard and cracks like a forgotten riverbed –
I have enough in me already.

Yellow Love that shines in the darkest places
And sways to the moon with me,
A cosmic dance to a boundless melody –
That’s what I want.

Red Love crept in
Wearing a camouflage coat
Hiding his counterfeit currency,
Pretending to know me and love and loving me

Sang songs of our symmetry
But then knocked at my door
To tell me to keep the music down.
Tried to tuck me into his heart – I couldn’t breathe.

Giving out little parts of myself
Like desperate gifts in exchange for love –
I’d forgotten how to move.

Feet stuck in concrete shoes
That I dragged to a dirge
While he tried to keep me.
But I don’t know why.

Catching glimpses of myself
In other people’s eyes –
Questioning why I was wasting my life
On a man whose chief purpose was to abuse.

Words staggered and tumbled
Out from my mouth
Like a newborn foal
When I tried to express my views.

But his fully-formed rhetoric
Would spit out insults
Like I needed to be told
How thick I was.

I swear, sometimes he thought I was asleep –
Stood behind me in front of the mirror
Pulling faces, not realising I could see
That his mask had slipped to reveal toxic vapours underneath.

It took more than a moment to leave –
Clinging onto an idea of the colour of love.
Trying to make it fit with the truth.

But it wasn’t enough to stay –
Just because I didn’t like the way
Lonely sounded against my skin.

I ran away in the end
From a man with dry eyes
And a sneer wider than his smile ever was.

I couldn’t keep hold of dusty regrets
So I swept them from my heart.
His echo a faded reflection of bitter sentiments
That I only hear in the dark sometimes.

Revolutions of the earth chasing the sun changed things.
Stretching out my limbs,
I begin to write my dance back into my body –
A 360 degree turn back to me.

I sing who I am, my broken voice
Weaving tapestries decorated with dreams
Of stars colliding to an infinite symphony.

You see beauty without finer things to veil me,
I see you taking tentative steps into the breach.
So, I trip the light around my shadows to get near –
Yellow Love reflecting a rainbow through tears.

We speak in moments that no one else can hear
Like we can hide from time.
Whispers in my ear light campfires in my mind,
Healing scars and breathing life into hollow bones.

You tap dance on my heart,
My soul plays funk to you –
And you keep turning up the volume
To hear every note of my tune.

Kisses at midnight
Take my hearts heavy bruises –
Turning them into armour.

Armed with Amber we are warriors – dancing amongst the stars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

