Zooming In. – Joshua Judson (blog post)

10 Feb

Arvon Totleigh Barton, Dec 2013.

I stop just enjoying the idea of poetry and being a poet and decide to actually start doing it properly. I rip off the cellophane.

One of many pieces of advice given to me this week was given to me by Deborah Stevenson, who asked me to zoom in.

I scrawl ‘ZOOM THE FUCK IN’ in my notebook.

 

Sunday 9th Feb, 2014.

half way through a new notebook, and at the tail-end of a bewildering week, I’m lost in refrains.

I want to be Allen Ginsberg more than Allen Ginsberg wanted to be Allen Ginsberg. 

Enough, time to be Josh.

‘ZOOM THE FUCK IN.’

 

I engineer this exercise for myself (or I may well have stolen it from somewhere).

The exercise itself reminds me of car journeys and the cub scouts and tests of memory.

I wrote:

 

Lanky Town.

Lanky Town. Awkward,
long streets like limbs.

Lanky Town. Awkward,
long streets like limbs.
Heady semi fingers,

Lanky Town. Awkward,
long streets like limbs.
Heady semi fingers,
terraced toes.

Lanky Town. Awkward,
long streets like limbs.
Heady semi fingers,
terraced toes.
Every bone broken.

 

And I thought I was dead clever.

 

-Joshua Judson

Leave a Reply

