Joshua Judson – Loewenmouthy final draft.

28 May

Lost in a city that is foreign,
seeing people that are not.

The old couple that shuffle
the ever changing streets,
needing nowhere else.

Anchored, hand in hand
as kaleidoscope Karlsruhe
twists around them.

And me,
Part of the whirl,

Lost in a city that is foreign,
Seeing people that are not.

The woman who flashes
And English grimace
As my driving license
Changes hands.

I still need proof of age
To buy tobacco here.

In Karlsruhe, smoke stretches
With a yawn. Unfurls itself
Like a cat
starting it’s day.
Floats, easy
Upwards.
In the way only
A cheap commodity can.

I’m used to Nottingham,
And smoke that barrels
Past your face.
Heavy with the weight of duty
And aimless, as if

Lost in a city that is foreign,
Seeing people that are not.

Two men exchange
Heated words in sundried streets
Faces red and swollen
With German beer.

The pils that dances
A strangers rhythm
On my tongue.

Slurring, though,
Is international.

And all these people
Are as home to me
As Nottingham.

I know them despite language.

I understand them through
The shapes and structures
That define how I see difference.

Lost in a city that is foreign,
Seeing people that are not.

 

 

Leave a Reply

