Debris, Honey, Emily & GOA headline SST7 1st Draft

8 Jun

TECH:

  • 8-11 choir members
  • Honey, Emily & Deborah Stevenson
  • 3 x mics & Ambient mics for the choir
  • Jack lead
  • Direct Imput
  • Audio Track
  • Maybe recorded audio voice elements (will pre-record this)
  • Lighting: we will work with what they have got
  • Length: 5-8min

 

Open:

Choir Sing Pattercake song, need to write this?

Will sound a bit like this

Lyric content maybe made from these freewrite lines or inspired by…. What I really like about this video is how it slows down the second time? Could we play around with the speed of this same patter cake some and then use this as the chorus?

 

PATTER-CAKE SONG CONTENT?

Idiocy accumulates faster than empathy.

Surprise me?

Equal parts inbred and stuck-up.

covert, silent, faceless ninja

constructed for children’s’ crush.

 

 

 

1. FIRST DAY AT SCHOOL

 

I’m wearing a new bra

I’m tingly, this is the future.

These weird new white black boards?!

God the conservatives really try!

A whole lesson just for art? Wicked!

 

But even the emos think I’m weird.

A teacher mistook me for a boy –

“Too handsome to be a girl.”

 

In art class, I was Frida Kahlo

I knew to be proud of that.

I had nits during the summer.

I’m sweaty, hormoney, every lunch is alone.

 

SOME KIND OF VOCAL CONTENT?

Varieties of coloured clans

With the same hair colour and style.

My brothers were too clever

For this Favela, weed and guile.

 

A year 10 on the buss told me

I’m angry, rectangular and ugly.

I cried in the ASDA toilet for 2 hours

Mum frantically attempting to calm me…

 

PATTER-CAKE SONG OR OTHER VOCALS?

Idiocy accumulates faster than empathy.

Surprise me?

Equal parts inbred and stuck-up.

covert, silent, faceless ninja

constructed for children’s’ crush.

 

 

2. GOING BACK TO SCHOOL

 

A year 10 on the buss told me:

“That white girl who can dance has come back!

Apparently she’s cat-nip to black men.

School can piss off,

my head feels sick:

 

The only thing exciting

about politics is racism

so let’s find a way to rebel or conflict”

Sounded alright for a seduction tactic.

 

If we were politician today,

We’d let Azonto live in my knees.

Dance alone.

 

PATTER-CAKE SONG CONTENT?

You talk posh, your weird

You’re not a proper black girl like us

Hierarchy demolished,

echoing in the past

We are queens.

You are nothing.

Your talents are no currency.

 

Bitches.

Bypass the CCTV

I’m going home.

I know that they want me,

and my entire family of immigrants to leave

and thats cool I wish they’d pay for the ticket.

 

I’m not brave enough to die.

My mum would kill me.

But my talent is no currency.

Even the peado PE

teacher won’t look at me.

So I run faster.

 

PATTER-CAKE SONG OR OTHER VOCALS?

Idiocy accumulates faster than empathy.

Surprise me?

Equal parts inbred and stuck-up.

covert, silent, faceless ninja

constructed for children’s’ crush.

Idiocy accumulates faster than empathy.

Surprise me? Surprise me…

 

 

Leave a Reply

