Anne, Say Sumthin 7 first draft (headline show) Title: Life Cover

10 Jun

Life Cover

I am in frozen produce,

past ready meals, on towards deserts

and I feel like,

I feel like,

I feel like I always have.

Feel,

a tap on my shoulder.

Glance to the side,

catch sight of this woman,

hear a voice like a prayer

chanting, “if you wore it last time round, you can’t wear it now,”

know that’s she’s me,

and I say out loud,

 “How did I get here?”

That sets me off

down the road to nowhere,

because where I used to feel like this

is coming like a ghost town.

Sometimes I think I’m doing a cover of my own life

same tracks

same beat

I can still hear London calling

same old refrain.

You’re not all welcome to the house of fun.

Little kids with empty bellies

are walking down our streets,

asking

‘what have I done to deserve this?’

But I’m too busy texting to explain.

We always said we’d rip it up and start again,

but my mind is like a plastic bag

full of stuff they make me buy.

Same old shopping list,

but they call it Vintage.

Ashes to ashes, isn’t that what they say?

And now the Young Ones have started dying,

I catch myself wondering,

should I stay or should I go?

Feeling under pressure

to live in a material world,

thinking love will tear us apart,

when in truth, that’s what keeps us

running up the hill.

Don’t you forget about me

I’m still hungry like the wolf.

You need to get back to life,

pull up to the bumper baby,

you’re still a West End girl!  We’re still a West End girl!

It’s not just young Parisians who love Patti Smith…

We can push it till the Melting Man sings Fairytale of New York.

Now that’s entertainment.

Come on!

Feedback: so this is me, walking down the street (maybe have some of you lot being a crowd around me? Maybe have a friendly musician strumming the odd phrase from the song titles I mention in passing???) when I catch sight of myself in a shop window and start talking to my reflection. Delivery will be a bit strained/bit on edge/maybe sing bits of it it???

How corny are the song titles? Are there too many? Too few? Do they seem forced? Is this showing displacement? Is it funny? Is it saying anything at all?

Oh, this should be about 3 minutes…

One Response to “Anne, Say Sumthin 7 first draft (headline show) Title: Life Cover”

  1. mouthypoets June 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

    I got lost here where I think there starts to be too many songs, that’s all I’m getting but I don’t think they’re telling me much about what you want to say:

    And now the Young Ones have started dying,
    I catch myself wondering,
    should I stay or should I go?
    Feeling under pressure
    to live in a material world,
    thinking love will tear us apart,
    when in truth, that’s what keeps us
    running up the hill.
    Don’t you forget about me
    I’m still hungry like the wolf.
    You need to get back to life,
    pull up to the bumper baby,
    you’re still a West End girl! We’re still a West End girl!
    It’s not just young Parisians who love Patti Smith…
    We can push it till the Melting Man sings Fairytale of New York.
    Now that’s entertainment.
    Come on!

    Hayley x

Leave a Reply

