Anne – Headline show final draft

2 Jul

Twice in a Lifetime

(singing to herself)

And you may find yourself living in a shotgun shack 
And you may find yourself in another part of the world 
And you may find yourself behind the wheel of a large automobile 
And you may find yourself in a beautiful house, with a beautiful wife 
And you may ask yourself 
Well…How did I get here? 
 (humming)

And you may find yourself, living in another part of the world.
And you may find yourself, in an East Midlands town.
And you may find yourself, riding on a tram.
And you may find yourself, in a beautiful theatre
with beautiful friends
And you may ask yourself,
Well?
How did I get here?

Sometimes I find myself, walking down the street
Sometimes I find myself, feeling like I always have
Sometimes I find myself, catching sight of my reflection
And she whispers to me,
like a prayer, “you are fifty.”

Sometimes I find myself, browsing through the rails
Sometimes I find myself, reaching for a dress
and she mouths at me,
“If you wore it last time round, you can’t wear it now.”
And I find myself looking at that reflection,
and I ask myself,
Well?
How did I get here?

That sends me down the road to nowhere,
because where I used to feel like this
is like a ghost town.

Sometimes I think I’m doing a cover of my own life
Same tracks

Same threads

Same beat
I can still hear London calling,
same old refrain.
But this time round.
we’re not all welcome to the house of fun.
There are little kids with empty bellies
on our streets
asking, “what have I done to deserve this?”

We always said we’d rip it up and start again,
but my mind is like a plastic bag,
full of stuff they make us buy.
Same as it ever was.
Same as it ever was!
But now they call it vintage.

And you may ask yourself,
“How did we get here?”

Leave a Reply

