Joshua Judson – Headline. Final edit.

16 Feb

Tea

At 8, I don’t know where tea comes from, 
but if it comes unsugared, I’m sending it back.

My young tongue needs sweetness
like my hand needs a bigger hand
to squeeze it across the road.

Tea comes after family meals,
Dad places hot mugs of routine on the table.

Tea stained sugar swirls,
I start losing milk teeth.
My hands swell around my mug.

I learn the click bubble click of kettle.
A new corner of the kitchen is taught to me.

And just lately, I’ve noticed
a lack of brown sugar slush
at the bottom of the mug.

At the crossing, my hand twitches 
for something bigger, then falls empty into pocket.

Leave a Reply

