my final poem and tec for headline show- liaurie ramsey

17 Feb

I know you mean well by Liaurie Ramsesy

When introduced and take my place on stage newspaper headlines and random satitics are projected behind me.  I need one mic on a stand and a single spot light. The projection should stop as I begin to speak.

I can’t really say how it all began

Eat a little less, skip a meal, hide it

I don’t know how I came to this place

An ever raging battle

Each bite a betrayal

Guilt consumes me

I bathed in denial

I can see you not understanding

It should be natural

So you say

Eat a little more

One more bite

I know you mean well

But you don’t understand what I’m going through

A diagnosis at 12

A catalyst for this journey I tread

I try to break the cycle

I want to disembark this lonely trail

Eat a little more

One more bite

I know you mean well

But you don’t understand what I’m going through

I suppose it’s hard to comprehend

For you do not see

the invisible wall that prevents me

with every bite

illogical voices taunt me

for my perceived weakness

you don’t see how my perception got distorted

how this all started

my pain at first disregarded

Just a little more

One more bite

I know you mean well

But you don’t understand what I’m going through

I am becoming stronger

Though some day’s logic is hard to decipher

I have had to accept this is part of me

I am not weak

You may not understand my story

But please listen without judgement

It’s not just about weight

It’s never that simple

Please try to hear

The reason for my fear

I survived the worse

I’ll survive the rest

When repeating this part of the poem further projections in the background.

Just a little more

One more bite

I know you mean well

But you don’t understand what I’m going through

Leave a Reply

