Lemon Sherbet

26 Apr

When my childhood friend turned up for school with little to no hair I first learned the word Cancer.

It sour fizzed in my mouth and blistered my tongue.
I rinsed it out with hide and seek, water-bombs and Capri sun.
But there is still some gathering between my teeth. 

.

One Response to “Lemon Sherbet”

  1. MouthyPoets May 15, 2015 at 11:09 pm #

    Not sure who wrote this, but it’s awesome. Love the imagery, and the references (like Capri Sun) – I think it makes the poem very accessible.

    Chris McLoughlin

Leave a Reply

