Charlotte SST9 First Draft (of sorts…)

1 Jun

“¡Oye!

Ese atrevimiento no, no te lo consiento
Y ese atrevimiento no, no te lo consiento
Y ese atrevimiento no, no te lo consiento
Y ese atrevimiento no, no te lo consiento”

Flew in with the floods
Slept til it was too hot
Fled in a stranger’s van
Passion slowly hissing from deflating tyres

Think you can dance?
Because you drank dirty rum from a dirty bottle
Because you too sharked around for a piece of toilet paper on a night out
Like every other glistening chica in cut off jeans and flip flops

Think you can dance?
By wearing jazz pants
Not straightening your hair
Or adding a mixer

So, as things stand, this is just a few words around an idea. Not sure I can call it a draft. More to come hopefully before the session on Friday. But I have quite a fully formed idea for performance. I would like to perform with someone else, who will play the character of a Ringmaster. They will essentially shout my poem at me whilst I dance throughout, somewhat like a performing animal at a circus. The atmosphere is an uneasy mix of joyous release and fear and tension of failure and its repercussions. It will last approximately 3 and a half minutes as that’s how long the song I want to perform to lasts. The song is That’s It by the Preservation Hall band that I posted previously.

4 Responses to “Charlotte SST9 First Draft (of sorts…)”

  1. deedenie13 June 2, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    I am really into this. No pressure but I really see Bridie playing a great ringmaster for that collaboration.

    • MouthyPoets June 4, 2015 at 5:09 pm #

      100% my thoughts on the matter too. Haven’t asked her yet……

  2. MouthyPoets June 3, 2015 at 11:37 am #

    Hi Charlotte,

    This definitely counts as a first draft to me and I love it, also love sharked as a verb!!!! Sounds like you have an idea of where you are going so I won’t say anymore as i love everything so far.

    Question about the song – will we need to pay money for you to have that playing? How important is that song, could it be life music instead? Will you choreograph the dancing or just go with it?

    Debris x

    • MouthyPoets June 4, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

      Thank you. I am looking into where we stand with PRS on the song. Will get back to you on that, but would reeeeeeally like it to be that song. I plan to mostly choreograph but with a bit of freestyle I think. Might lose it towards the end.

Leave a Reply

