Bree SST9 2nd Draft

19 Jun

Sorry it’s late…was really struggling with this.

.

Master has taken me from my country

I sail towards the Caribbean sea

Carried by my own tears

Away from serendipity

.

Master has stripped me clean

Of everything I own

Any link to my home

Bringing me to my knees

.

Master takes my drums from me

But I steal pans from the Master’s kitchen

To make drum beats

.

Banned from carnival festivities

I hold my own

Master gives me 100 lashes

But it is worth every single one

.

Master had to set me ‘free’ eventually

And I still dance to create memories

Through the space left between

Me and my family tree

.

Master always tries to shut me down…

[e.g. Canboulay Riots in 1881]

.

I still sing to create harmonies

That carry over the winds of time

These are mine

.

Master still tries to steal music from me

But he can’t find rhythms in the steel pans

That I once stole from him

And he can’t find freedom, like I can,

In the way his body tries to move with pride –

It is a lie

It’s Nottingham Carnival 2015

Wining and gyrating have been replaced

with whining and castigating

The only voices heard

are people arguing over a £2 entrance fee.

Leave your bitterness in the queue please

.

Master will always try to shut me down

But I will never forget why I’m here

Leave a Reply

