Ingrid Mclaren. Studio Show 2nd Draft

30 Jun

Agnostic

We were the lost ones,

the saviour had already ascended back through the clouds

about 27 minutes ago according to my watch.

I heard some of the people who thought they didn’t deserve

this fate wailing, watering the dust in this empty car park

trying to tell God they had been exceptional.//

I looked up, bang on half past,

God was back carrying an old Volvo.

He said to us I am bringing a few more of these

so you guys can drive to heaven.

The Guinness punch and the jerk chicken

will probably be gone by the time you guys get there

but I’ll leave the Waltzers and the Ferris Wheel.

Good Luck because the fire and brimstone

will be coming down soon.//

He disappeared into sky

I never thought God could look so small.

I guess that’s why he usually ascends through low clouds.

It was unorganised, people were sprinting

I didn’t even realise that I was tearing

through this last pizza slice situation as well.//

I clambered into the car but people wouldn’t stop

though the car was now impregnated with 18 ecstatic souls.

When the doors were finally shut, there were three in the front

including the driver, ten in the back, people on laps and in foetal positions

settled between feet: faces squashed against windows. Four in the boot

and one person angel garment knuckle gripping onto the bonnet.

The driver looked back at us, giggling as she raced off.//

The idea of heaven had never been appealing to me

Sabbaths had always been the bane of my week,

now God was saying there was Guinness punch!?

I hadn’t been paying attention

to the road but when I looked up the trees were bending

their branches and making a flat road and

the ones in front leapt higher straight out of the concrete.//

It was only interesting for a couple of seconds

then I decided that sleeping would feel like clean bedding right now.

I looked at the people around me,

realised that the person to my right was so attractive

that I forgot how to speak and when I remembered,

my words were like Bambi on ice.

I said something about whether they minded if I leaned

on them while I slept because I’m always really conscious

about touching people unless it’s really necessary and it seldom is.

It was fine, it usually is.//

I dreamt that sky was made of jigsaw pieces.

They would float down on command: take you anywhere you wanted.

I jumped up, asked the driver how she knew where she was going.

She told me we’ll be in the forecourt in a minute.

She hadn’t answered my question.

I started counting to sixty.//

By the time I got to 45 just like in my dream a piece of the sky

big enough for the car dropped, landing directly in front of us.

The driver instantly put the hand break on as we parked. We shot

into the sky. I lost count.

It felt like less than 15 seconds before I heard music

and I was hurtled back to my childhood.

The Temptations as thick as porridge in the air.//

Everything was dark but the road was a shimmering like moonlit water.

I looked around and the women were in batty riders

and the men in string vests and gold chains.

Everyone just looked around so confused

not saying a word until the driver broke the silence by saying.

Jesus Christ I have good skin. We all checked ourselves

out and agreed that we all had amazing skin.

The driver chuckled as we drove into the gates

Exactly as God said, the Ferris wheel and the Walters

were still up and the 18 of us danced.

Dancing wouldn’t exist after us.

Leave a Reply

