TECH SCRIPT ADVICE: SST9

4 Jul

Hey guys,

So the final draft deadlines are coming up for both the Auditorium and Studio show and I will need to know your staging/lighting requests to send off to Nottingham Playhouse. Now there are three ways this information can be given to me and I have provided quick examples using a section of my SST9 poem.

1) You email a draft with no annotations (so just a final copy of your poem) and are therefore giving me permission to give you suggestions rather than having to decide on your own.

.
4pm.
She returns home.
Floating through the hall like she’s on display.
No stammers, stumbles or anything less than a smile.

But through the crack of her bedroom door, I saw her chest rise and fall.
The chubby hands wiping at her eyes,
smudging tears into her face so they blended in with her features.
No one would ask any questions at the dinner table.
We are four years a part but in that moment, time was insignificant.

I asked her if she was okay.
‘Fine’ was the automatic response.
But my mum told me what the other girls had said
and she swore the words didn’t torment her when I know that they did.
I’d always considered us opposites,
but I swear I could see each broken piece of myself moulded into her replies.

.

2) You annotate your poem where there is a shift in tone/mood and we discuss what tech would be suitable.
.

NEUTRAL.

4pm.
She returns home.
Floating through the hall like she’s on display.
No stammers, stumbles or anything less than a smile.

POEM BECOMES MORE INTENSE. WORRY.

But through the crack of her bedroom door, I saw her chest rise and fall.
The chubby hands wiping at her eyes,
smudging tears into her face so they blended in with her features.
No one would ask any questions at the dinner table.
We are four years a part but in that moment, time was insignificant.

NEUTRAL.

I asked her if she was okay.
‘Fine’ was the automatic response.

ANXIOUS.

But my mum told me what the other girls had said
and she swore the words didn’t torment her when I know that they did.

REFLECTIVE.

I’d always considered us opposites,
but I swear I could see each broken piece of myself moulded into her replies.

.
3) You provide full detail of what you would like (props/staging/audio etc…) and at what points you would like the tech to change.

.
WOMAN CENTRE STAGE USING MIC WITH STAND. CHAIR IS POSITIONED BEHIND HER.
WARM WASH OVER THE WHOLE STAGE

4pm.
She returns home.
Floating through the hall like she’s on display.
No stammers, stumbles or anything less than a smile.

SINGLE SPOTLIGHT ON WOMAN.

But through the crack of her bedroom door, I saw her chest rise and fall.
The chubby hands wiping at her eyes,
smudging tears into her face so they blended in with her features.
No one would ask any questions at the dinner table.
We are four years a part but in that moment, time was insignificant.

WOMAN SITS ON A CHAIR.
SWITCHES TO HANDHELD MIC.
SPOTLIGHT ON THE CHAIR.

I asked her if she was okay.
‘Fine’ was the automatic response.
But my mum told me what the other girls had said

and she swore the words didn’t torment her when I know that they did.
I’d always considered us opposites,
but I swear I could see each broken piece of myself moulded into her replies.

——

Please email the final edited version of your poem to production@mouthypoets.com in TIMES NEW ROMAN FONT SIZE 12. It would be useful to know if you would like a handheld or cabled mic as well.

.
If you have any questions at all about tech/staging then send me a message and we can sort something out in time for the show.
Thanks,
Afrah

Leave a Reply

