Final draft and tech- Liaurie RAMSEY

5 Jul

HI GUYS DONT HAVE ACCESS TO MY LAPTOP AT MO. SO MY DYSLEXIA MIGHT BE SHOWING. IF YOU NOTICE ANY SPELLING ERRORS PLEASE LET ME NO.
(Set- 1st set a child’s chair and a few scattered toys. A mirror behind. Second set – a full length mirror some clothes On a clothing rail. Third set – mirror only. I will move between these sets when changing stanzas. A spot light shod follow my progress)

(Single spot)

My pulse quickens as I stand before the doors.
Am I ready?
Can I face the versions of me left behind?
How do you know when your ready?
To face the truth of who you were who you are and will be?

I walk this pilgrimage To clear away the doubt and frustration.
Everyone has an opinion of who I am
A contradictory assumption
I don’t understand
I stand here alienated
I begin this wandering through time

(I move to first set spit changes to multi coloured lighting)

A child stands before me, what future can I promise her? Where will her journey take her. Children are the promise of a future.
What will we teach them?
What fears will we install?
Will we only speak the truth
or fill their heads with fantasy and magic. Shield them from the world
we know they must become apart of?
The child before me smiles in ignorance of the difference that marks her as different
Her days are full of family, love music and food. She dances to the music of celebration.

(Spot light throughout)

A young girl walks beside me
She says
In this world of light and dark how do you find your way to the light?
Can you trust your own heart?
Do we choose the path we take
Or do we just play a part of someone else’s plan?
She doesn’t like who she is
head full of taunts she believes to be true
I close my eyes to these years of my life

(Blue lighting)

A young women walk slightly ahead of me. She sings a song softy
Although I can’t hear the words
the melody fills my head
It tells me
We live our lives observing ourselves through broken mirrors
We give them power to define us
We observe these distortions as a truth
Never understanding it’s a creation of another’s mind.
We watch our lives pass through fun house mirrors viewing ourselves shaped to the creators design.
A mirror begins as clear glass.
Glass is created by sand.
So change the tide wash away the sand destroy the mirror
create your own
I look through my own mirror now
And smile at the truth reflected back

(I walk away from the sets a single spot)

Looking back at these versions of me
confusion dissolves
Leaving behind beautiful crystals
We don’t have to convince anyone
Of who we are
I will no longer shed tears
For those who are committed to misunderstanding me

I exhale and exit the house of mirrors

(Lighting to go up then suddenly dark)

Leave a Reply

