Liaurie RAMSEY

22 Jan

TEC SINGLE SPOT LIGHT AND MIC ON STAND.
MAYBE A MIX OF BLUE AND GREEN LIGHT FOR FIRST STANZA
SINGLE SPOT FOR THE TEAT IF THE POEM

You were once a bedtime story
Listened to through sleepy eyes
You lived through magic and lore
I never questioned your existence
Now as I stand before you
nestled between Star and ice
I marvel at your brilliance
A new world
Hidden between the stars

When I was a girl

I used to read.
Escaping from a reality I didn’t feel I belonged
Day dreams and poems
I found a home between pen and paper

I lived in the stories which clouded my head with adventure
I explored the impossible
glided through the air and discovered new worlds
Leaving my own behind
I’ve cut doorways to new worlds with a knife
Rode on a polar bears back and flew with witches over the arctic
I battled through the arena there will be only one victor
I cast spells and mixed potions
I solved the mystery, I know who did it
I hunted ghost where fear never stopped me
I fell in love and felt its heartbreak
I’ve held my breath and cried. Laughed and mourned
I’ve felt power and been powerless

I was a queen calm and fair
a warrior who fought to the end
A powerful sorceress and the unexpected saviour
Through stories I became fearless

The turning of pages taught me

My strength is not measured in kilos and pounds
Love isn’t always enough
Good guys sometimes lose
And the villain wins

My weaknesses only enhance my strength
What I see as imperfection another will see as courage
Sometimes I need to let the need to let the world turn with out me

It’s okay to cry.

Sometimes the world can feel so small
Feeling claustrophobic under the pressure
There is always someone to return your smile
focus on the blessings that I take for granted
Through books of fiction I discovered a new way of breathing

Leave a Reply

