Debris Stevenson – SST11 Draft 1

15 May

Jezebel

 

[Verse 1]

 

Oi, hide, hide, hide…

They called me ugly,

 

Wait – did they call me anything?

Never had real friends, library ting.

Long tie, coasting, runnin’ from da beef,

Year nines jackin’ my sleep.

 

Dumb one in da fam, didn’t know what to say,

School was on the brink, bullies knew what to say.

Bunked mathematics, brothers better – try dramatics.

How could I pass in a world of shanks n bars?

 

And they called gyal Jezebel,

 

Chatting bout line ups in the loos

I’d never even kissed, hadn’t been asked to.

Watch gal get churpes, when boys act nice.

Hands fast, den her names shanked in a night.

 

Fat and brash, man didn’t clock me as a gash

So I heard dem chat bout Jezebel’s slap.

Virgin means your wifey, head means your dead,

More time man ain’t kissed before he’s had sex.

 

[Hook]

What he do? You didn’t let him…

don’t say a thing, sket ting,

(Mans already said she’s nothing.

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

all she wants to be. She clings.

(Man already said she’s nothing,

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

been spread about, don’t say a thing, sket ting,

(Man already said she’s nothing.

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

name’s catching, man in line, same bars, she pings,

(Man already said she’s nothing.)

But her loves now been named Jezebel.

 

[Verse 2]

You’ll find everyone at a shoobs,

But I ain’t right; face too wide, strong mind.

Man-dem are my boys, cause I make their laughs grow,

But when they think gyal-dem – my name don’t even show.

Watch dem to bashy, think bashy’s my thing.

Clock grime MC’s and I can’t stop listening.

So I hit the gym – – stop eatin’.

Bedroom train whine slow and mimic lyrics flow.

 

So whilst the Jezebel’s locking the cubicle door,

Think I’m new through form-room door.

Man-dem weren’t expecting this big change.

Abs pull in my waist, but thick thighs stayed same.

Gyal pick links over GCSE’s

Lipsing zoots, not man, no – booky,

Left pregnant, left bleeding, left tarred,

Sex their cash or card ao they walk to the next yard.

 

[Hook]

What he do? You didn’t let him…

don’t say a thing, sket ting,

(Mans already said she’s nothing.

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

all she wants to be. She clings.

(Man already said she’s nothing,

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

been spread about, don’t say a thing, sket ting,

(Man already said she’s nothing.

Seen her crying in the ladies. Lady’s

name’s catching, man in line, same bars, she pings,

(Man already said she’s nothing.)

But her loves now been named Jezebel.

 

[Verse 3]

Surprise, now I can be seen,

But I’ve gleaned what’s wifey cuisine.

Went from fat virgin, to virgin wifey queen,

Parent invites, morning kisses – caffine.

Raised Mormon then questioned everything.

Befriended boys then couldn’t trust anything.

 

Aged fifteen, I was running alone,

Top of hierarchy, but no real love of my own.

Nuff slags, chucked bags, nuff cusses thrown,

Nuff baby scares, Jezzy’s nuff lie prone.

Nuff easy for me, one wifey’s fame,

Jezzy said sorry, didn’t know her name.

 

Oi, wish I could take my words back to my fat days,

Not let a gyalis in a car park stray.

Pillar stabbed my back, his hands festered, prick

Mouth panicked shut like a Jezebel’s – click.

 

****Artwork photographed by Saira Awan, Post-Production by Ryan Hawkins

Leave a Reply

